Season of Adventure-my Arizona Art Journal

Once again it is Get Messy Thursday! As we did not have a prompt set this week, and I have had a light sensitive headache all day and did not get finished what I wanted to share today. I thought I would share one of my travel art journals today.

I currently have 4 travel inspired altered book art journals:


Arizona, Chicago, Columbus and Dallas. All inspired by trips or places I frequently tavel to, I always collect paper ephemera as I travel and they to use that as the primary materials in these journals.

Today Imwanted to share some of my Arizona art journal. Inspired by the trip my Mom and I took last year to visit my Grandma in her winter home in Arizona.

Here it the title spread:


Mainly acrylic paint and markers. With a bit of collage cut from one of the Arizona newspapers I collected.


The index page. Horses always remind me of my grandma as we always rode her horses together.


Left page used a gift card as a stencil and then filled in the colored boxes with words about our trip. Right page hand cut Arizona state stencil with a bit of collage.


All washi tape greenhouse page


I used painters tape embellished with colored pencils to look like the wonderful Pal verde trees that we saw everywhere in Phoenix.


I love the photos in this book of cactus and su let’s that I chose to be this journal. This page was a photograph of these great red flowers that I just altered with painting out sections with acrylic paint.  I also outlined the petals with onc of my brush pens and colored some of the petals with markers.


This is my favorite spread in this journal: Arizona Rememberance.

The news paper Grandma subscribed to it the Arizona Repiblican (I think) so I used most of the standard head and then cut out the rest of the letters I needed for remembrance from other headlines in the paper.

I call this the “not in Nebraska anymore” part  of the page. I liked that this photo kind of looks like me and my westie Waffle 😉.


This part of the page is about the day my older brother and his girlfriend took mom and I hiking in Sedona, AZ. We hiked around Bell rock in the picture. The shadows is actually a photos I took of all of our shadows printed out on tracing paper and then outlines with brush pens. And I used ripped newspapers to create the mountains that surround Phoenix.

So that is a look at all I have done in my Wrizona art journal so far. All the paper I used for collage elements is either collected in AZ during my trip or is photos I took.

One thought on “Season of Adventure-my Arizona Art Journal

Leave a Reply

