Get Messy an Art Journal Challange

So I heard about the Get Messy Art Journal Challenge from one of my great Instagram Art Journal friends and had to check it out. I am so glad I did! 😀  you should check it out here: http://getmessyartjournal.cayleegrey.com/about/  I decided to join the group, both the prompts and tutorials have been great so far!

For my first warm up I used the free printable I got from them. I used it for the dust cover for the little book I am going to use as my dedicated get messy art journal.

Here is what the dust cover looked like before I started:

Dust cover before

As the first set of Get Messy prompts are going to be Love themed I thought the book title was appropriate.

Used my favorite color of Liquitex Ink! Deep Violet and my sponge Daubers to swirl it around.

Used my favorite color of Liquitex Ink! Deep Violet and a sponge Daubers to swirl it around.

I also decided to integrate this weeks challenge 5-Using Washi Tape in ways I normally don’t into this cover. So I used Washi tape to cover up the words that I did not want as part of my finished cover.

used my blue Sharpie Stained maker to draw squiggly lines up from the pages then a water brush to spread it around.

used my blue Sharpie Stained maker to draw squiggly lines up from the pages then a water brush to spread it around.

printed on tracing paper

I printed my free printable on to tracing paper (something I am slightly obsessed with in my art journal). I did several different sizes since my tracing paper is legal size and I did not know what size I wanted to use. One of the things I love about printing/copying on to tracing paper is it is so easy to see how it layers with your existing page. I tried a few possibilitys before deciding what size to use:image

image

I finally decided to cut it apart and make it follow the flow of the book pages:image

I also decided to use one of my other favorite techniques for this cover. Embossed aluminum foil. Which my brilliant Mom found is awesome to make in the SIZZIX machine with an embossing folder. This one is mad with the aluminum top of a disposable foil pan lid. image

I cut out one of the clocks and put it in the center on the bottom.image

After taking a break and coming back to it I decided I did not like the melony color on the top so I used more of the deep violet to cover it.image image

For the back cover I used more of the Liquitex Ink! in cerulean blue and quinacridone magenta on the back cover swirled with my sponge dauber. but the magenta turned out a bit muddy after it dried so I covered most of it with more deep violet.  image

I love all the different textures you can get with the sponge dauber here are some detail shots:image image image

Then I broke out my white Molotow paint pen and did some letteringimage

Decided to cover the back cover of my with #’s written cursive. I am totally loving the how the white Molotow pen pops on the swirly ink background.image

I decided to use the largest version of the printable on the back over the top of the # words. I used washi tape to attach the tracing paper by the corners. Instead of just gluing it down like I normally would. image

image

Finished dust jacket: 

Here it is on my new little art journal. I think I might touch up the text a bit but over all I am very happy with it: image

Leave a Reply

