Super Easy Stencil Tutorial

Hi everyone,

Sorry it has been ao long since I have posted but it has been a busy summer for me. For most of June I was taking care of my Grrandma after her sugary and she has no internet. So that put me way behind on everything. To kick things back off I thought I would share a super easy way to make a stencil.

For this project all you need is:

1. A craft knife/ or swivel knife [I have this swivel knife from Hobby Lobby that I love]

2. A 4×6 print of a simple graphic image [Both CVS and Walgreens often have their photo prints on sale for 10 cent each]

3. A cutting board/mat

I started with a 4×6 print of this image of stained glass that I took:

DSC_3097 - Version 2I chose to use this for my test stencil because it is super easy design to cut out because you just follow the lines. So that is what I did I just chose one of the colored panels and cut along the black lines:

IMG_8591 - Version 2

In some areas I had to make the lines thicker so that my stencil would be strong enough,you want your lines between the cut outs to be about 1/4 and inch thick.I also tried to leave about a 1/2 inch border around the edges. Where I needed to make the lines thicker I just drew in the print with a sharpie and then cut along those lines:IMG_8576 - Version 2

 

When you have all your sections cut out your done! You now have a fun new stencil to play with in your art journal and mixed media projects!  The photo print yields a quite sturdy stencil, and it is super easy because the design is already done for you. Using a stained glass pic was perfect for this but anything simple and graphic would work like large flowers of graphic shadows. Even buildings with strong architectural lines, or a skyline would work. Here is what my finished stencil looked like:

Finished stencil

Finished stencil

The back of the stencil:

Back of the finished stencil

After I made my stencil of course I had to test it so I just grabbed a handy magazine add and a sharpie and stenciled away:

the stencil on the page using 2 repeats of the stencil

Detail I embellished the blue sharpie with a white paint pen, I also tried to color match the purple and greens in the image and colored the white text to make the printing in the ad disappear :

IMG_8581 - Version 2

 

Here is the finished page. I used the stencil about 6 different times a crossed the page. using it bolth face up and face down to get the mirror image of the design:

my finished stencil test page Finished page with stencil

I am very happy with how the stencil held up after use with pens and markers. But the color from the sharpie did bleed on the back paper of the print a bit. So I think I am going to put a coat or 2 of some acrylic satin varnish on the back before I try to use the stencil with wet media like paint or spray ink. I hope you find this tutorial inspiring and I would love to see how your stencils turn out if you make some of your own!

~Amanda

 

 

Update: I did coat the back of my photo print stencil with 2 coats of Winsor & Newton Galeria Acrylic satin varnish. I then let it dry over night and then used the stencil with both acrylic paint and brushed on ink. I am happy to report that it worked with both brilliantly, and then was easily cleaned (both front and back) with a damp cloth. I am continuing to be impressed with the durability of this little stencil. Below is my test page that I made, the blue on the right is the acrylic and the green is the ink:

20140713-041012-15012202.jpg

Also if you would like to try and make your own stained glass photo print stencil. But happen to not have any photos of stained glass laying around, you can check out my Stained Glass photos in my smugmug gallery. You can even buy prints of ones that you like right from there and make them in to stencils for your personal use. I would love to see how they turn out if you do!

Leave a Reply

